The last number of years have been an incredibly difficult time for students sitting state examinations. The uncertainty around the composition of exams and, in the case of the Junior Cycle, whether exams would take place at all, presented students with an unprecedented set of challenges. With this backdrop, it is more fitting than ever that we recognise the academic excellence achieved by the students of our school. 

On Friday night last we were delighted to present the following students with Leaving Certificate Academic Awards and to present one student with our Junior Cycle Award for 2022. 

The Aileen Muldowney Award– Katelyn Mullen 

The Parents Council Award – Áine Fitzgerald 

The Con Hamilton Award – Kiera Khan Moss 

The Cobh Credit Union Award- Seán Devlin 

The Cobh and Harbour Chamber Award – Kate Scannell 

The John Sweeney Award – Sinéad Fitzgerald 

The Michael Moroney Award – Faruq Adegboyega 

The Cobh Ploermel Award – Aoife O’Mahony 

The Coláiste Muire Award – Holly Owens 

The Keith Lynch Award – Aaron Kennedy Cronin 

The Conor McCarthy Award – Andrea Travers 

The Junior Cycle Award for Academic Excellence – Leah O’Connell 

The Fr. Stack Award for Academic Excellence – Aaron Quirke 

The McAuley-Rice Awards for the Leaving Cert class of 2022 recognise the positive contribution of these students throughout their time in Coláiste Muire in the broadest possible sense. We believe that these students epitomise the ethos of the school and the vision of our founders Edmund Rice and Catherine McAuley. 

McAuley-Rice Awards: 

Boy: Faruq Adegboyega 

Girl: Kelly Walsh